BlogJamboree subcamps renamed in honor of the National Park Service centennial

Posted on August 23, 2016 by

August 25, 2016 is the one hundredth anniversary of America’s National Park Service. Just two months after he signed the congressional charter for the Boy Scouts of America, President Woodrow Wilson signed the National Park Service Organic Act, formally establishing the National Park Service. Since then, that organization has functioned as the ward of the nation’s most valuable natural treasures.

Think the Summit is big? The National Park Service oversees more than 84 million acres of land in all fifty states and five territories. The service’s charter is to preserve the ecological and historical integrity of the places entrusted to its management, while simultaneously making them accessible and available to the public. Mission accomplished: in 2015, alone, they hosted over 305 million visitors!

The Summit Bechtel Reserve has the unique benefit of being adjacent to one of the most beautiful for the National Park Service’s 412 units: the New River Gorge National River. Visitors to the Summit are able to make use of the national treasure, and the have repaid the country for its use through some incredible service projects, such as the Order of the Arrow’s Summit Corps.

Of the 412 units of the National Park Service, 59 are specifically designated as national parks. These protected areas are specifically established by an act of Congress. Yellowstone, the first national park, was signed into law by Ulysses S. Grant in 1872 – an act that even predates the current National Park Service!

To celebrate the momentous anniversary of the National Park Service, and to honor the heritage of conservation, natural wonder, and outdoor adventure they share with the Boy Scouts of America, each 2017 National Scout Jamboree subcamp has been renamed in honor of a national park. Each camp has a handsome patch designed to commemorate this occasion – the full set is sure to be a major collector’s item at the Jamboree!

Here’s the full list of subcamps, and their names – see below for images of all the subcamp patches!

A1 Acadia B1 Isle Royale
A2 Badlands B2 Crater Lake
A3 Ranier B3 Carlsbad
A4 Congaree B4 Shenandoah
C1 Denali D1 Guadalupe
C2 Mammoth Cave D2 Glacier
C3 Big Bend D3 Zion
C4 Everglades D4 Haleakala
E1 Great Smoky Mountains F1 Death Valley
E2 Grand Canyon F2 Katmai
E3 Yosemite F3 Mesa Verde
E4 Yellowstone F4 Olympic